Organization Teams

In this article, you will learn how to set up a team within your Onfleet account. 

Teams make it easy to group drivers and dispatchers together and are particularly useful if you operate in multiple countries or cities, or in different parts of a single city. The administrator has access to all teams, but dispatchers and drivers are assigned by the administrator to one or more teams.

Teams may have "Hubs" assigned to them, only one hub can be assigned to a team at a time. 

 

This article will cover: 

 

Team Setup

Teams group drivers and dispatchers together and are used to segment an organization by geographic area, operational unit, or any other desired structure. The administrator has access to all teams while dispatchers and drivers have access only to teams they have been assigned.

99eec8e4-e2ce-4599-9e81-d91a92e66c94.jpeg

 

To add a team, click the + icon, enter a name, and assign drivers and dispatchers. If you do not have drivers or dispatchers to assign, you can add them later.

 

 

To edit an existing team, double-click on the team name or select it and click Edit...

 

To delete a team, select it and then click the - button in the bottom right corner. You can not delete a team that has drivers or dispatchers assigned to it only.

 

Return to top

Hub Setup

A Hub is a central location from which your drivers start and end routes.  For example:

  • a city headquarters
  • a warehouse
  • a central kitchen
  • a parking lot

Hubs can be assigned to one or more teams however teams can only be assigned one hub at a time.

To create a hub, navigate to the Team tab and click the + button. Add a name, valid address, assign a team, and click "Create Hub." If an address is not recognized, you can use latitude/longitude coordinates. 

 

Note: Hubs without team assignments are only visible to administrators. Hubs with team assignments are visible to administrators and dispatchers assigned to the same team.

 

To edit an existing hub, double-click on the hub name or select it and click Edit...

To delete a hub, select it and then click the - button in the bottom right corner.

 

Note: The Hub functioned is available when the "Route Optimization" feature is turned on in the "Add-Ons" section of the administrator account. 

 

Return to Top

 

Dispatcher Setup

A dispatcher is a dashboard user who views and/or manages drivers and tasks for assigned teams. For example:

  • a driver manager
  • a route planner
  • a customer service agent

Add Dispatcher

To add a dispatcher, navigate to the dispatcher tab and click the + button. Add a name, email address, phone number, and assign to a team.

Note: The dispatcher's email address must be unique. Sending an invitation to an existing dispatcher email (within any Onfleet organization) will result in an error. If the same email address must be used, a sub-address or plus-address will satisfy the uniqueness requirement (ie: "name+dispatch@domain.com").

 

 

Note: Checking the “Read Only” checkbox will restrict the dispatcher to a View-Only Account. Read the next section for more information.

 

Edit a Dispatcher

To edit an existing dispatcher, double-click on the dispatcher's name or select it and click Edit to open the Dispatcher details. 

You can then change the dispatcher's name, email, and contact email.

 

Note: When you change a dispatcher's contact email, the dispatcher will receive an email notifying them of the change and the change will not take into effect until the dispatcher confirms the change via email. 

 

Once your edits are done, select "Save". 

 

To delete a dispatcher, select the dispatcher and then click the "- " button in the bottom right corner.

 

Once removed, the dispatcher will no longer be able to log in to your organization's dashboard and all of their settings will be deleted. However, the tasks created or assigned and any data created will not be affected.

 

Return to Top

 

View-Only Account Setup

A View-Only Account (also known as a "Read-Only Dispatcher") will be able to view the dashboard as a Dispatcher but are not be able to add, update, or delete drivers and tasks on their assigned teams.

Roles that may require a View-Only Account only need access to the dashboard to view task and driver statuses. These roles include:

  • Store Managers
  • Warehouse, shipping, and loading dock employees
  • Any employee on the supply-chain that would benefit from driver status visibility to perform their jobs

 

To restrict dispatchers to view-only, check the box labeled "Read Only" when adding or editing a dispatcher. If making a change to an existing dispatcher, ensure they log out and log in to ensure this change is applied.

 

 

 

Return to Top