Connections

In this article, you will discover how Onfleet supports the ability to link your operations directly with other organizations. From online food ordering businesses to local restaurants, or online flower shops to local florists, tasks can be created by one organization and fullfilled by another connected organization while maintaining a unified recipient experience.

This article covers:

Connect to another Onfleet organization

You can request to connect with another organization by going to Settings > Connections > and by clicking the button in the bottom right corner. Simply add an email to send a connection invite to the organization in which you are trying to connect.

 

To connect with an existing Onfleet organization, send the request to the organization's admin email. They will be prompted to accept your connection request. If the email address is not in use as an organization email, and they will be prompted to sign up.

Once connected, you can start delegating tasks to them or receiving tasks that they assign to you.

Back to top

Allow Task Editing by Connected Organizations

By default, your connected organizations are not able to edit, delete, or reject tasks that have been delegated to them.

If you would like to allow your connected organizations to edit delegated tasks, navigate to the Connections Tab in your Admin's Settings. Then, check the box Allow task editing.

 

 

Now, your connected organizations will be able to edit the task details of your delegated tasks, such as the task type, task notes, address, or time windows.

Back to top

Allow Task Rejection by Connected Organizations

By default, your connected organizations are not able to edit, delete, or reject tasks that have been delegated to them.

If you would like to allow your connected organizations to reject delegated tasks, navigate to the Connections Tab in your Admin's Settings. Then, check the box Allow task rejection.

 

Now, the connected organizations will be able to return delegated tasks back to your Unassigned tasks list.

This can be done by editing the task and clicking the Reject task button at the end of the task modal.

 

Your connected organizations are also able to reject tasks directly from the sidebar via right-click of a single or multiple selected task(s).

Back to top

Assign a Task to be Completed by a Connected Organization

Once you are connected to another organization, you will be able to assign tasks to them by choosing the organization's name from the dropdown upon creating or editing a task.

 

Checking the box "Use notification settings for ..." will ensure that the recipient of the assigned task will receive SMS notifications according to the configuration of your organization. Otherwise, the recipient will receive notifications according to the organization that is executing the task.

The task will appear in your map and sidebar, under the organization it was assigned to, but you will not be able to see the driver it's assigned to until the task has been started.

 

Once the organization has started the task, you will be able to see the driver's location and other information in your dashboard. You can edit and delete the task until it has been started.
 

When a task has been assigned to an organization, it will appear in their dashboard's sidebar and map. However, they will only be able to assign it and will have read-only access to the rest of the task's fields unless you allowed for task editing and/or task rejection.

Back to top

Accept a Connection Request from Another Organization

If another organization requests to connect with you, you will receive an email prompting you to accept their request. It will look like this:

 

 

Once you sign in to your account and accept, you will be able to assign tasks to, and receive tasks from, the other organization.

 

Back to top

Complete a Task Assigned by a Connected Organization

If an organization you are connected to assigns a task to your organization, it will simply appear on the map and sidebar in your dashboard as unassigned.

 

You can then assign it to one of your drivers as if you had created the task. The only difference is that you will be unable to edit most of the task's attributes (other than assigned driver) or reject the task, unless your connected organization has given you the permission to do so.

Once the driver starts the task, the connected organization will be able to see the location of your driver in their dashboard:

 

Upon delegation of a task, your connected organization is able to choose between having the recipient of the assigned task receive SMS notifications according to the configuration of the organization that created the task, or your organization.

Back to top

Remove a Connection

You can remove a connection with another organization at any time by clicking the - button in the Connections tab in settings. This will prevent the other organization from being able to delegate tasks to your organization and vice versa.

Back to top

Add a New Sub-Organization

Note: Professional plan only

Onfleet customers with a Professional plan have the ability to create multiple Onfleet organizations at no additional cost via the multi-brand account support feature.

This is an especially useful feature for larger companies that operate in multiple geographic regions.

To add a new sub-organization:

  1. Log in as the admin user of the master organization
  2. Go to the Connections tab: Settings > Connections
  3. Enter the email address for the admin for the new sub-organization. Please note that it can't be an email address already in use as an Onfleet admin/dispatch.
  4. Have the new admin user check their email inbox for an email from Onfleet with the subject: 'X wants to connect with you on Onfleet', and click the link to set up the new organization. They will additionally be connected with the master organization, which will allow cross organization task assignment, and some other multi-organization features.
  5. Contact support to make final adjustments and take the new sub-organization out of trial mode. Please indicate the email address that used.


Back to top